A set of four cards with green ribbons.


Lymphoma is cancer that begins in infection-fighting cells of the immune system, called lymphocytes. These cells are in the lymph nodes, spleen, thymus, bone marrow, and other parts of the body. When you have lymphoma, lymphocytes change and grow out of control.
There are two main types of lymphoma:

  • Non-Hodgkin: Most people with lymphoma have this type.

  • Hodgkin

Non-Hodgkin and Hodgkin lymphoma involve different types of lymphocyte cells. Every type of lymphoma grows at a different rate and responds differently to treatment.

Lymphoma is very treatable, and the outlook can vary depending on the type of lymphoma and its stage.

Source of information:

This year, an estimated 8,110 people (4,570 men and 3,540 women) in the United States will be diagnosed with Hodgkin lymphoma.

The survival rate has been going up since around 1975 thanks to treatment improvements. From 2007 to 2016, the death rate dropped 4% annually.

Hodgkin lymphoma affects both children and adults. It is most common in 2 age groups. The first group is people ages 15 to 40, particularly young adults in their 20s. The second is people older than 55. The average age of diagnosis is 39. Although the disease is rare in children younger than 5, it is the most commonly diagnosed cancer in teens ages 15 to 19.

The 5-year survival rate for all people with Hodgkin lymphoma is 87%. The 5-year survival rate for stage I is 92%. The 5-year survival rate for stage II Hodgkin lymphoma is 93%. Approximately 40% of people are diagnosed with this stage. For stage III, the 5-year survival rate is 83% and for stage IV, it is almost 73%.

Source of information: